"Let Me Put My Experience To Work For You."
"Let Me Put My Experience To Work For You."
- Stephen M. Misko

Drug charges: Is marijuana legal in the state of Pennsylvania?

| Mar 20, 2020 | Drug Charges |

Despite growing tolerance regarding marijuana across the nation, possessing and selling this substance remains a crime here in Pennsylvania. This means that if you are caught with marijuana or caught selling cannabis, you could suffer incarceration on one or more drug charges.

Until the state catches up with the rest of the country, you must take steps to defend yourself if police officers arrest you on weed-related drug charges. Without a proper defense, you could face the following penalties.

Misdemeanor possession of marijuana

  • The penalties for possessing under 30 grams of cannabis could mean 30 days in jail and/or a fine of $500.
  • The penalties for possessing more than 30 grams of marijuana could lead to one year of jail time and/or a fine of $1,000.
  • Subsequent arrests for possessing over 30 grams typically means three years in jail and/or fines of up to $25,000.

Felony selling of marijuana

The penalties for selling more than 1,000 grams of cannabis could result in:

  • Up to 10 years behind bars
  • Possible fines totaling $100,000 or fines that would equal any profits the defendant earned from his or her weed sales.
  • Subsequent offenses for selling marijuana could mean double the penalties above.
  • Selling cannabis to minors could also lead to double penalties even if this is a first offense for selling to underage youths.

As you can see, the state still aggressively pursues convictions for drug charges involving marijuana. Defendants need to seek immediate assistance when an arrest occurs. Swift action in acquiring legal counsel can help defendants overcome the charges or at least avoid the harshest penalties if a conviction occurs.

Archives